Female Fronted Bands

images

I have a friend who has some questionable opinions. We wanted to start a band together, like every teenage kid, and I wanted to sing cause I thought it would be fun. The thing he said to me stuck with me for a while, and it wasn’t mean, but being a feminist it put me off a little bit. He said to me that we shouldn’t have a female singer because not many female fronted bands get famous. It bothered me because there are so many female fronted bands that are so famous and so amazing.  Because he said that to me I want to be just like “challenge accepted” watch me get famous.

There are a lot of great female fronted bands that don’t get as much reconnection as they should. So I have been making it my duty to find as many as possible. Normally when I talk about music it’s mostly about like 80s-90s music, mostly punk rock or something. I have noticed that a lot of girl punk bands talk a lot about feminism, sexism, sex, and things that pertain to being a girl. Which I find very empowering and totally badass.

  • Bikini Kill
  • Royal Trux
  • Blondie
  • Pat Benatar
  • Damone
  • The Cranberries
  • Hole
  • Jack Off Jill
  • Marina and The Diamonds
  • Pussy Riot
  • I guess Pussy Galore, there is Julia Cafritz, but she’s not the singer, she’s the guitarist
  • Deep Dark Robot
  • Queercore
  • Regina Spektor
  • Kids Love Lies
  • Kimya Dawson
  • The Distillers
  • Lana Del Rey
  • Free Kitten (which is actually Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon’s band)
  • The Donnas
  • Lilly Allen
  • Florence and The Machines
  • Paramore
  • Emily’s Sassy Lime
  • Cold Cold Hearts

There is soooo many more, I have actually just recently found a wonderful playlist of a bunch of these bands and of course they start with the song Rebel Girl by Bikini Kill, which is always the best way to start a Female Fronted band playlist

I know I must have missed a bunch of bands, there is no way I got all of the female fronted punk/rock/pop bands. That’s just what I could think of off the top of my head. But if you think of one or two or six please share them with me and I would love to add it to the list! Music is a wonderful way to help express things. So I hope if you don’t know these bands already that you look them up! Because most of them are amazing!

Leave a Reply

